Meet Lara Perth Interior Architect behind new Cottesloe Home Store LAHAUS

Image 02

If you haven’t had the chance to pop into Lahaus in Cottesloe, add it to your to do list. This beautiful space is not only home to hand selected home pieces AND interior ARCHITECT Lara but also double as a great space for Creatives to hire for Workshops, Photography Shoots and for Brand Styling.

How and why did you started your business?
I have always had the idea of opening my own studio in the back of my head. I wasn’t sure if I would ever do it but I made sure I shaped my career experience to expose me to the world of small business.
In London, I worked in a small, very influential design firm. My boss started his practice just after leaving university and I was very inspired by his work ethic & attitude. He never held back and our firm bid against large architectural firms with huge staff numbers when we were only a team of 5. This taught me a lot about what a good team can achieve.
When I moved back to Perth I worked with another great team at MONO focusing on interior fit-outs in the commercial and hospitality sector. It was at MONO that I learnt how to push the boundaries in fitout design. They have some great projects under their belt including Helvetica, Lalla Rookh, Rendezvous Hotel & Low Key Chow House to name a few.
I left MONO to work on a few private developmental renovations and immediately received a lot of interest from clients looking for design ideas for their residential renovations so after about 6 months I launched the business. The business has grown naturally since then although not without a lot of hard work.

Where is your store located? What will be find in there? Who works from your store?
We are located in Napoleon Close which is a walk through arcade off Napoleon Street in Cottesloe. We love the neighborhood feel of Napoleon Street – cafes and fashion labels.
We source a beautiful range of international & local products including:
Handmade Armadillo rugs
Aboriginal artwork
Danish homewares
Hand-painted Pop & Scott pots
French wall-hangings
Melbourne Ivy Muse Plant Stands
Flat weave textiles from Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Bath & home natural botanical products

The LAHAUS team is a team of 3 right now but we make the studio available to other creatives in art, fashion, graphics, design and photography. This keeps the space fresh & helps gets the creative juices flowing. We also Hire our space to other Creatives for Workshops, Photo Shoots etc which you can view here.

Where did your business name come from?
‘LA’ comes from Lara (who started the business)
‘HAUS’ is house in German. A subtle connection with our residential design work and retail product line.

What do you find is the biggest challenge when owning you own business?
I love travelling and owning my own business means less time away and more time in Perth focused on my work and my clients.

Your best moment so far in your business?
I have had so many good moments. They are addictive – something good happens and then you want something better to happen –  an awesome motivator to push yourself in business.
The latest highlight would be working with Mon Palmer & Bec Hutchinson on the Pozible campaign –  A GARDEN FOR SARE. Sare is a victim of domestic violence and Mon has started this campaign to raise funds to build her a new courtyard garden.  Our studio will be the home of the FUNDRAISER design workshop & it’s going to be awesome.
The workshop will happen in January 2016. It’s great to be able to work with such talented designers for a worthy cause.  You can buy your tickets via the link www.pozible.com/agardenforsare

Most memorable challenge you had with a client or stockist?
I wouldn’t say it was with anyone in particular. But saying no to clients is something I have had to learn to do. Clients are critical to our interior design business and learning to manage them & their expectations is a challenge. I always want to do the very best for them but with that there are always limitations.

Your favourite quote or mantra We are a product of our thoughts”

What is your advice to Perth Women wanting to start their own business or turning their hobby into a small business?
Fear and self doubt stems from our own thoughts. Reducing or managing your own fear will help you take, make or find the opportunities. In small business you have to drive everything. Take risks and learn from them – you will always grow and be better for it.

What is your vision for your business?
Our mission is to promote the value of design to the Perth market. We love creating and we want to make better spaces, places and homes for people. So our vision is to keep pushing the creative boundaries – our own with our residential design and the awesome creative crew who make the products.

THE QUICK FIVE
Favourite Perth CoffeeThe Daily in Swanbourne but I think I could easily give you 10 others – I love coffee. (and wine)
Favourite Perth Fashion Label ANIKA Basics
Favourite Perth Homewares Well… I would have to say our product range – I have hunted and selected the products myself and love all of it so I don’t think another store could compete with that!
Favourite Perth Bar Helvetica
Favourite Perth Restaurant
I love going out for breakfast so I would have to say FortySeven Kirkwood in Floreat. The food is SO good.

FOLLOW, SHARE AND TAG LAHAUS ON INSTAGRAM TO RECEIVE 10% OFF THEIR STORE

CONNECT
SHOP
INSTAGRAM
FACEBOOK

1

Image 03 Image 01

1 2 4

I would love your thoughts..

